Gluten Free Nashville

by Katie Eckeberger

Welcome to Gluten Free Nashville! April 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — gfnash @ 8:59 pm

My name is Katie Eckeberger, I’ve been GF for over a year now and I’m starting a blog¬† for those of us in the Nashville area that have to or choose to eat Gluten Free (GF).¬† I’m sure you’re thinking, “Ummm… don’t you know that this type of thing already exists???” and the answer is “Yes.” However, I intend for this blog to be much more than a restaurant guide.

It will be educational: I will post articles and excerpts from material I’m reading about the GF lifestyle.

It will be helpful: I’ll be a guide to your GF dining experience, offering suggestions as well as a brief review of each restaurant I visit.

It will be informative: From time to time I may post easy, inexpensive recipes or share some GF products that I love.

And it will be fun: I will try to post video clips and photos of some of my GF experiences, so you can see what I’m up to.

I hope all of you will stay tuned as I build my site and decide what my first real post will be about! And I’m ALWAYS interested to hear stories, get recipes, and receive tips from all of you so contact me if there’s something you’d like to share.

keep on livin’,

katie.

 

2 Responses to “Welcome to Gluten Free Nashville!”

  1. Melanie Says:

    What a great site! thanks so much for starting this. I found your link through the FB Gluten-Free group. I have just learned that I have a gluten allergy. I have known since a child that I was allergic to wheat – I’m still a bit confused… aren’t gluten and wheat the same thing? I just finished reading the book “the gluten connection” – it was awesome – I highly recommend it to everyone!! Anyhow, I’ll be sure to check back often, and as I experiment with GF recipes I’ll be sure to share w/you! Please visit my blog, too, if you have a chance!

  2. gfnash Says:

    Hey Melanie! I’m glad you found the site.
    And you’re right – gluten is a part of the wheat grain. It’s actually a part of the protein. AND glutens are also found in BARLEY and RYE, so if you’re allergic to gluten and not just wheat you’ll want to stay away from those grains as well.
    Gluten is actually the part of the grain that when in a dough, makes it elastic and spongy. That is why so many gluten free breads are crumbly and brittle – they don’t have the gluten acting as their ‘connective tissue.’
    I’ve also learned, through doing a little research, how that actually affects the small intestine: there are little ‘villi’ within the walls of the small intestine that act like little fingers, grabbing all the nutrients we need as our food passes by. When someone is allergic to gluten, those fingers become worn down over time and can no longer absorb nutrients, which in turn affects our overall health.
    Most people end up having digestional issues because of this, like diarrhea or constipation. Others get migranes and skin rashes. I’ve even heard of cases of stunted growth! And did you know that many people with autism try to eat a gluten free diet as well? Apparently, Autistic tendencies lessen when subjects are under a gluten free diet.

    Here’s a link to Wikipedia where you can learn a little more about Gluten. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten There are also links there to ‘Celiac Disease.’
    Here’s another great blog I REALLY recommend you read as a newly discovered gluten-allergic. It’s the “Gluten-Free Girl” and this particular article talks about things that gluten can be hidden in. a MUST READ! http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/2005/08/what-heck-is-gluten-anyway.html

    Anyway, you probably already know most of that info I just shared with you, but hopefully it still helps. Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

